Terms & Conditions
Chief Minister’s Northern Territory History Book Award 2023


The Chief Minister’s Northern Territory History Book Award was established in 2004 to recognise outstanding contributions to published histories about the Northern Territory.

It is awarded annually with prize money of $1,000 to the selected entry.

1. Eligibility:

1.1 Entries must be a published history about, or pertaining to, the Northern Territory.

1.2 All entered works must have been published in Australia or overseas between 1 January 2022 and 31 December 2022 and be commercially available during this period.

1.3 Entries must be written in English or one of the First Nations languages of the Northern Territory.           

1.4 Entries are open to all Australian citizens or permanent residents.

1.5 Revised or subsequent editions of previously published works are ineligible.

1.6 Entries can be a monograph by a single author or multiple authors writing in collaboration.

1.7 Edited collections of essays are ineligible.

1.8 Self published books may be entered but unpublished manuscripts will not be considered.

2. Entries:

2.1 Entries to the Chief Minister’s Northern Territory History Book Award will open Monday 27 February 2023 and close at midnight on Monday 10 April 2023.

2.2 The online entry form must be submitted by the closing date. Entries received after this date will not be accepted. The online entry form can be accessed through our website here - https://lant.nt.gov.au/chief-ministers-northern-territory-history-book-award.  

2.3 Four copies of each book entered must be delivered by 10 April 2023 to:

Chief Minister’s Northern Territory History Book Award
Library & Archives NT
GPO Box 42, Darwin NT 0801


2.4 Books will not be returned.

2.5 A high res image of the cover of the book and photograph of the author are to be included with the submission of entries.

2.6 Receipt of entry will be via email through the Submittable system. Please allow seven days to receive this acknowledgement.

2.7 Authors may nominate themselves. You may enter on behalf of an author but must obtain their permission before entering.

2.8 Entrants will be notified by email through the Submittable system if their entry has been shortlisted. Authors of shortlisted works will be notified in June 2023.

2.9 Feedback will not be provided to applicants.

2.10 The decision of the judges is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

2.11 Shortlisted and winning authors may be required to take part in events and media activities.

2.12 Breaches of any of the Terms and Conditions will render an entry ineligible.

3. Prize Money

Prize money of $1,000 will be awarded to the Chief Minister’s Northern Territory History Book Award winner.

4. Judging Criteria

The judging panel will assess entries against the following criteria:

  • Significance
    • contribution to the field/ broader Northern Territory history.
    • contributes to new understandings
  • Research
    • depth and quality of research
    • shows evidence of a wide variety of sources including primary source material.
  • Writing 
    • strong central and convincing thesis
    • well structured logical flow of chapters/sections, good pacing.
    • overall readabililty
  • References
    • appropriate use of indexes, glossaries, appendices.
    • good quality images and/or maps, correctly attributed.
  • Design
    • overall visual appeal
    • clear layout
    • quality images, diagrams and graphic material

5. Privacy

By submitting an entry you agree to our privacy policy https://lant.nt.gov.au/digital-services-privacy-policy


Download a copy of the Chief Minister's Northern Territory History Book Award Terms and Conditions.