Finalists Announced | 2024 Chief Minister’s Northern Territory History Book Award


Library & Archives NT is thrilled to announce the list of finalists in the running to win the 2024 Chief Minister’s NT History Book Award. 

The selected books feature stories of determination, resilience, culture, and identity and provide new narratives to defining moments in NT history. 

We wish to congratulate all finalists! 

  • Connecting the North: From the Diaries of the Overland Telegraph Expeditioners by Andrew Crouch
  • Darwin: Survival of a City the 1890s by Derek Pugh
  • Jakarda Wuka (Too Many Stories): Narratives of Rock Art from Yanyuwa Country in Northern Australia's Gulf of Carpentaria by li-Yanyuwa li-Wirdiwalangu (Yanyuwa Elders), Liam M Brady, John Bradley, and Amanda Kearney
  • Murli la: Songs and Stories of the Tiwi Islands by the Ngarukuruwala Women's Group with Genevieve Campbell
  • Our Voices from the Heart by Professor Megan Davis and Patricia Anderson AO
  • Tiwi Story: Turning History Downside Up by Mavis Kerinaiua and Laura Rademaker

The winner of the 2024 Chief Minister’s NT History Book Award will be announced at a ceremony at the NT Library. 
We invite you to tune in to watch the Award Ceremony livestream on the Library & Archives NT Facebook page from 12.15pm on Monday 15 July.

Click here to find out more.